top of page

MSF Scholarship Winners Announced

As the 2017/18 school year draws to a close, students in the class of 2018 were recognized for their many accomplishments in academics, athletics, arts, leadership, and service.

The Mariemont School Foundation is proud to administer several scholarships on behalf of generous donors. We had the opportunity to celebrate the following students in this year’s Mariemont High School recognition day, celebrated on May 14, 2018:

LO.V.E Scholarship (SURF Program): Corinne Fanta, class of 2017 and attending the University of Tampa, was awarded a Summer 2018 undergraduate research fellowship at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center. The LO.V.E scholarship, established by the Erhardt family, honors their daughter, Olivia’s, life, her love of science, and her desire to help others in need. Learn more on our LO.V.E. Fund page.

Damon Troy Smith Memorial Fund Scholarship: Johnny Carroll will be participating in the Global Student Leadership Summit in Summer 2019 in Paris, France as the recipient of this award. This fund was established by Jack & Barbara Smith, in memory of their son, Damon Troy.

Steve McKee – Mike Fordyce Scholarship: Kelechi Akagha received this 4-year scholarship award. The award is given by Mike Fordyce in honor of Steve McKee and in appreciation for the original Steve McKee scholarship he received as a Mariemont High School senior. The scholarship is presented to students like Kelechi who demonstrate a commitment to varsity athletics and strong character.

Robert A. Martin Science Scholarship: Jackson Northrop was honored with this award for his enthusiasm and scholarship in science. The award was established in honor of Robert A. Martin, a biology, chemistry, and physics teacher at Plainville High school from 1939 who became principal of MHS in 1953. The award is presented and funded by David Martin, class of 1954.

David Deeter Memorial Scholarship: Davis Chu received this award for his commitment to video arts and technology. The Deeter Memorial Scholarship is presented by family in memory of David Deeter, the founder and first president of the Mariemont School Foundation.

Julia Donnelly Memorial Scholarship: Alexandra Kauffman received the Julia Donnelly Memorial Scholarship in recognition of her exceptional writing skills, involvement in communication arts, leadership by example, and social awareness. This scholarship was established in Julia’s memory by her family and reflects Julia’s characteristics as an outstanding student and gifted writer who passionately participated in the arts and other extracurricular activities.

Trinity Scholarship: Michael Campbell was recognized with this 3-year scholarship award for demonstrating the principles of the Kindness, Courage, and Respect Retreats throughout his school years in the district.

Hank Kleinfeldt Memorial Scholarship: Jude Hart was selected to receive this memorial scholarship for his strong commitment to community service and a giving spirit, like Hank Kleinfeldt. This scholarship was established in Hank’s memory by the Class of 1994.

Fairfax Youth Organization Scholarship: Brett Gilbertson was selected for this honor for his strong character and participation in Fairfax Youth Organization sports. The award is presented out of a fund donated by the former Fairfax Youth Organization.


bottom of page